Boundary Review

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link
Map

In 2019 and 2020, the school district reviewed the catchment boundaries for elementary schools. The review identified a few challenges with excessive enrolment at Hatzic Elementary and the Albert McMahon Elementary. The school district conducted a preliminary survey of parents of these schools, and targeted surveys of parents in the Durieu and Steelhead areas. Targeted public engagement will be conducted before a decision regarding realignment of catchment boundaries is made.

Earlier this year, staff began the process of analyzing enrolment data for Durieu and Steelhead, but due to unforeseen circumstances, the project was delayed. Staff updated the enrolment projections for the elementary schools in November and recommend a comprehensive consultation with parents to consider a boundary realignment. We have exceeded our enrolment projections from 5 years ago, and are currently getting even more students. Staff are working on the premise that any boundary realignments recommendations would be for September 2022.


On November 30, 2021, at the Committee of the Whole meeting, Staff recommended realigning the school catchment boundaries to move the Steelhead area from the Albert McMahon Elementary School catchment to the Stave Falls Elementary School catchment, and to move the Durieu area from the Hatzic Elementary School catchment to the Dewdney Elementary School catchment.

The Board approved these recommendations in principle on December 14, 2021 and initiated public consultation and engagement on this site with the Durieu / Dewdney, and Stave Falls / Steelhead school communities regarding the school catchment boundary change.

Additional meetings and specific surveys have been scheduled in January 2022 to consult with the school community regarding the catchment boundary changes (see Key Dates).

Although the boundaries have not yet officially changed, to assist with capacity issues, parents of incoming Kindergarten students that live in the area of Durieu/Dewdney are being asked to register at Dewdney instead of Hatzic Elementary.

Parents of incoming Kindergarten students that live in the areas of Steelhead/Stave Falls and currently showing as in catchment for Albert McMahon are being asked to register at Stave Falls Elementary.


Public Participation:

A comprehensive public engagement process is expected with any consideration for realigning boundaries. Based on previous surveys, there is some support for realigning boundaries. A public process will explore more options, dependent on public input.

Do you have a question? A story you'd like to share? An Idea? Please submit them below!


A list of documents has been uploaded for your review, sorted by date, in the document section.


In 2019 and 2020, the school district reviewed the catchment boundaries for elementary schools. The review identified a few challenges with excessive enrolment at Hatzic Elementary and the Albert McMahon Elementary. The school district conducted a preliminary survey of parents of these schools, and targeted surveys of parents in the Durieu and Steelhead areas. Targeted public engagement will be conducted before a decision regarding realignment of catchment boundaries is made.

Earlier this year, staff began the process of analyzing enrolment data for Durieu and Steelhead, but due to unforeseen circumstances, the project was delayed. Staff updated the enrolment projections for the elementary schools in November and recommend a comprehensive consultation with parents to consider a boundary realignment. We have exceeded our enrolment projections from 5 years ago, and are currently getting even more students. Staff are working on the premise that any boundary realignments recommendations would be for September 2022.


On November 30, 2021, at the Committee of the Whole meeting, Staff recommended realigning the school catchment boundaries to move the Steelhead area from the Albert McMahon Elementary School catchment to the Stave Falls Elementary School catchment, and to move the Durieu area from the Hatzic Elementary School catchment to the Dewdney Elementary School catchment.

The Board approved these recommendations in principle on December 14, 2021 and initiated public consultation and engagement on this site with the Durieu / Dewdney, and Stave Falls / Steelhead school communities regarding the school catchment boundary change.

Additional meetings and specific surveys have been scheduled in January 2022 to consult with the school community regarding the catchment boundary changes (see Key Dates).

Although the boundaries have not yet officially changed, to assist with capacity issues, parents of incoming Kindergarten students that live in the area of Durieu/Dewdney are being asked to register at Dewdney instead of Hatzic Elementary.

Parents of incoming Kindergarten students that live in the areas of Steelhead/Stave Falls and currently showing as in catchment for Albert McMahon are being asked to register at Stave Falls Elementary.


Public Participation:

A comprehensive public engagement process is expected with any consideration for realigning boundaries. Based on previous surveys, there is some support for realigning boundaries. A public process will explore more options, dependent on public input.

Do you have a question? A story you'd like to share? An Idea? Please submit them below!


A list of documents has been uploaded for your review, sorted by date, in the document section.


Ask a question!

We have received a few questions regarding students being able to remain at the current school (Hatzic or Albert McMahon).  We will review the questions posted on this site during the meetings scheduled in January.  Details on the meeting dates / times / location (or on-line), will be posted in the next day or so.

The meetings are intended to gather information regarding the proposed changes, and consider the questions, comments, and concerns that are presented.  This information will be expected to guide the decisions being made regarding implementing the boundary changes.  The board will also need to consider busing options and any other concerns or questions that are brought forward as well. 

At this time no decisions have been made regarding implementation of the proposed changes.  Additional information will be provided on this site as it becomes available – including a summary of the questions and comments received, responses provided, and a summary of the information gathered during the meetings in January.

Please post on this page any comments or information you would like the Board to consider with the proposed changes.

 

Corien Becker, BComm, CPA, CGA

Secretary-Treasurer

You need to be signed in to add your question.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    As a parent of a child at Albert McMahon Elementary who would be affected by this change and displaced to a different elementary school when she has made friends and is comfortable where she is. As well as she attends before and after school care (after being on a wish list) that she is also comfortable at and has made friends at. I do not believe it would be well for any child’s mental well being to be forced to go through yet another change. Resulting in my child to be forced into two completely new environments as I would have to switch her before and after school care. During this awful pandemic these children are already dealing with an upheaval on their lives, I do not believe this will be good for any child to be moved that is already enrolled. I hope with this change you allow the students who are already attending mentioned schools to stay where they are. I know my child would not benefit from being moved and I do not believe any other child would either.

    Jacqueline Barnes asked 18 days ago

    Thank you for you response, Jacqueline. Your concern will be reviewed by the Board of Education. 

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Our son would be negatively affected by this proposed change. He is currently in grade 5, and has a hard time emotionally becoming settled into social situations. As an existing student at Hatzic, we believe there should be a process for grandfathering children and making the change for incoming kindergarten students only.

    travklassen asked 19 days ago

    Thank you for your concern, travklassen. Your comment will be presented to the Board of Education. 

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    My daughter attends hatzic with her long time friends. Does she now have to change schools in the middle of a pandemic while the government is not allowing us to "socialize" with anyone? Does my preschool son now have to register to a new school different from his sister and what he has known?? How much more disappointment do these children have to endure???

    Chrystal asked 30 days ago

    Hi Chrystal. Your concern will be forwarded to the Board of Education for consideration. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. 

    Ilona Schmidt, Executive Assistant. 

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I'd like to add considering a grade 7 option to stave falls as most students will be heading to maple ridge for middle school , not a hatzic catchment and ensuing 1 hr+ bus ride. Many parents that fought to have stave falls opened in the first place were assured that gr 7 would be included and when it wasn't, kept their children in the schools they were already attending. 

    Rhonda asked about 1 month ago

    Thank you very much for your input. The Board of Education will review all of the suggestions prior to any decisions are made. 

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    At the risk of posting twice (I hit submit on a prior message, but it isn't appearing below), I wish to add my voice to the parents/guardians who have concerns at the prospect of having to move established students out of their current school. Both of my children currently attend Hatzic Elementary and are strongly rooted into their school community. I request that 'grandfathering' existing students in to their current school (be it Hatzic or AME) for the remainder of their elementary school careers be genuinely considered with the social, emotional, and academic well being of those students in mind. It's been a rough couple of years and forcing existing students to move would be a huge blow in a time when they need the social and emotional support more than ever. I fully recognize that changes need to be made, but feel strongly that those changes should begin with students starting their education in Mission in September 2022, not the ones who already have established 'home' schools.

    Sam Strange asked about 1 month ago

    Thank you - we have provided an answer to this question below   

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I would like to add my voice to the group of parents/guardians with concerns over the potential of having to move students presently attending Hatzic Elementary (and AME). My two children currently attend Hatzic Elementary and are strongly rooted in their school community. I understand that both Hatzic and AME are operating at/above capacity and something needs to give, but feel strongly that the changes should begin with new enrolments for September 2022, and not disrupt the lives of students and families already attending Hatzic and AME. In a time when social and emotional support needs are especially high, forcing established students and families to move schools (no matter how wonderful all of our Mission schools are) would be a serious blow. I request that 'grandfathering' existing students in for the remainder of their elementary careers be genuinely considered with the well being of those students at top of mind. Thank you.

    Sam Strange asked about 1 month ago

    Good morning, Sam. 

    Thank you for your input. Your concern will be reviewed by the Board of Education. Please note, that in light of the catchment boundary review/changes,  we are asking the new, Kindergarten registering families who live in the areas of Steelhead/Albert McMahon/Stave falls boundary, to register to Stave Falls Elementary, and those who live in the rural area closer to Dewdney, to register at Dewdney Elementary instead of Hatzic. 

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    My daughter is enrolled at Hatzic and is settled where she is. We have arranged before and after school care at a daycare where her younger sister also attends. She was on the waiting list for this for a long time and the daycare will not accomodate to dewdney. As a full time working parent who leaves early in the morning, this is my only option. I am not willing to change schools as it will not work for our family, both for my daughter's emotional well being and for the scheduling of care outside of school. What is the protocol for students already attending Hatzic who have made many arrangements to make sure their child is successful in school?

    Kreck asked about 1 month ago

    Thank you - we really appreciate your input. Your concerns will be reviewed by the Board of Education prior to any decision being made. 

    Ilona Schmidt 

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Will current students going to Albert McMahon be grandfathered in? My daughter attends kindergarten there and is thriving I do not want her to switch!

    Alison asked about 1 month ago

    Good afternoon, Alison. We have received a few questions regarding students being able to remain at the current school (Hatzic or Albert McMahon).  We will review the questions posted on this site during the meetings scheduled in January.  Details on the meeting dates / times / location (or on-line), will be posted in the next day or so.

    The meetings are intended to gather information regarding the proposed changes, and consider the questions, comments, and concerns that are presented.  This information will be expected to guide the decisions being made regarding implementing the boundary changes.  The board will also need to consider busing options and any other concerns or questions that are brought forward as well. 

    At this time no decisions have been made regarding implementation of the proposed changes.  Additional information will be provided on this site as it becomes available – including a summary of the questions and comments received, responses provided, and a summary of the information gathered during the meetings in January.

    Corien Becker, 

    Secretary-Treasurer

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    What if I don't want my children to be moved? I want them to stay at AME. We have been there 5 years and this would be very disruptive to an already stressful two years. How can I be on a list to make sure I am notified of any meeting or votes if they are to come up. This is VERY important to my family and my children's happiness and livelihood.

    Rachel Friesen asked about 1 month ago

    Good afternoon, Rachel. We have received a few questions regarding students being able to remain at the current school (Hatzic or Albert McMahon).  We will review the questions posted on this site during the meetings scheduled in January.  Details on the meeting dates / times / location (or on-line), will be posted in the next day or so.

    The meetings are intended to gather information regarding the proposed changes, and consider the questions, comments, and concerns that are presented.  This information will be expected to guide the decisions being made regarding implementing the boundary changes.  The board will also need to consider busing options and any other concerns or questions that are brought forward as well. 

    At this time no decisions have been made regarding implementation of the proposed changes.  Additional information will be provided on this site as it becomes available – including a summary of the questions and comments received, responses provided, and a summary of the information gathered during the meetings in January.

    Corien Becker

    Secretary-Treasurer

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Will the change of catchment for Durieu students affect the students already attending Hatzic? Both my children are currently attending Hatzic and are very settled there. It would be very traumatizing to move as none of their close friends would be making the move with them.

    Ginny asked about 1 month ago

    Good afternoon Ginny. We have received a few questions regarding students being able to remain at the current school (Hatzic or Albert McMahon).  We will review the questions posted on this site during the meetings scheduled in January.  Details on the meeting dates / times / location (or on-line), will be posted in the next day or so.

    The meetings are intended to gather information regarding the proposed changes, and consider the questions, comments, and concerns that are presented.  This information will be expected to guide the decisions being made regarding implementing the boundary changes.  The board will also need to consider busing options and any other concerns or questions that are brought forward as well. 

    At this time no decisions have been made regarding implementation of the proposed changes.  Additional information will be provided on this site as it becomes available – including a summary of the questions and comments received, responses provided, and a summary of the information gathered during the meetings in January.

    Kind regards, 

    Corien Becker

    Secretary-Treasurer

Page last updated: 11 January 2022, 13:43